Elder Winkler’s reflections on Brother Holland’s, “I hugged that boy ’til his eyes bulged out…”

I have been reflecting on Brother Holland’s last conference talk when he said, “A 14 year-old boy recently said to me a little hesitantly, “Brother Holland, I can’t say yet that I know the Church is true, but I believe it is.” I hugged that boy until his eyes bulged out. I told him with all the fervor of my soul that belief is a precious word, an even more precious act, and he need never apologize for “only believing.”   I told him that Christ Himself said, “Be not afraid, only believe,” a phrase which, by the way, carried young Gordon B. Hinckley into the mission field.   I told this boy that belief was always the first step toward conviction and that the definitive articles of our collective faith forcefully reiterate the phrase “We believe.”   And I told him how very proud I was of him for the honesty of his quest.”

prodigal-son-3I said I was speaking to the young. I still am. A 14-year-old boy recently said to me a little hesitantly, “Brother Holland, I can’t say yet that I know the Church is true,9574-mobile

Reflecting on this story has made me cry. I have been working hard on this, and loving everyone, even the people who attack my testimony and it just makes me stronger than before. My companion is teaching me that I need to bear my testimony, instead of through scriptures to persons. To testify of what I have learned from my family experiences and striving to bring honor to a good family name.

Angelina, time goes so fast as a missionary, and you will not be able to bear it sometimes. Just pray and whatever you do don’t argue or “bash” with persons you are teaching.

Jackeileen, Thank you.  I have been praying harder than I ever have.  I have been reading much of the Holy Bible and The Book of Mormon. I found a really awesome acronym for B.I.B.L.E. it is this:
B-Basic
I-Instruction
B-Before
L-Leave
E-Earth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Elder Winkler’s reflections on Brother Holland’s, “I hugged that boy ’til his eyes bulged out…”

  1. Frank Hickey says:

    Hi Clifton,keep pushing forward and it is clear that you are growing as your experience broadens.

  2. Cheryl Mathieson says:

    Elder Winkler, you are blessed to have a good companion. He has given you good advise! This article by Elder Holland will come in handy some day to share with someone you teach. Thanks for sharing your testimony!

  3. Doug Hudson says:

    Thanks for your letters Elder Winkler !

Leave a Reply

